Know Your Minimum Liability Coverage Limits in Illinois—They’re Set to Go Up in 2015

Drivers in Illinois are required to maintain minimum limits of vehicle liability insurance, under the state’s mandatory insurance law, according to the Office of the Secretary of State.

Liability coverage protects you from damages you cause to others or their property in an accident, and is typically made up of three separate components: bodily injury liability limit per person, bodily injury liability limit per accident, and property damage liability limit.

As the law stands now, the minimum coverage limits in Illinois are as follows:

  • $20,000 to cover injuries to another person
  • $40,000 to cover injuries to other people, per accident
  • $15,000 to cover damages to another person’s property

These minimums, which you may see written, for example, as 20/40/15, are set to change in 2015, after legislation passed the Illinois General Assembly earlier this year. Starting, Jan. 1, 2015, the new mandatory minimum limits of vehicle liability insurance will be increased to 25/50/20—that is, a $25,000 bodily injury liability limit per person; a $50,000 bodily injury liability limit per accident; and a $20,000 property damage liability limit.

And, as always, it’s important to carry your insurance card and registration in your vehicle and prepared to show any inquiring officer, according to the Office of the Secretary of State.

Interested in learning more about liability coverage and what it protects? Check out the video below.



Recommended by the Editors:

Contact an Allstate Agent near you to review your auto insurance coverage.

Join the Conversation


Tools & Resources

Tools & Resources

Contact Us

Contact Us